Bitch Mondays: Materialism/Materialistic People

I think, as human beings, we naturally need to surround ourselves with something/someone to maintain some feeling of stability. It’s probably the reason we live in houses, and families/significant others in those houses, as well as other various things. Those who don’t have people within their house usually have some type of animal or, if they live alone, will have a computer/lap top/netbook/(whatever other piece of technology) to stay connected as a subconscious way to somehow fill that void. Not to say ANYTHING I’m currently rambling about is based on a specific ‘study’ or that it’s solid evidence, but, usually when we see/have a need for something, we fill it with a living being/an inanimate thing.

Often times we have these either material/living things because it plays a significant role for us emotionally. Your spouse and kids provide love, your house is your warmth and your sense of safety, your furniture provides comfort, and so on. What I hate (more than anything. . .) is when people have a tendency to completely fill these emotions with . . .things and not people. A house may provide warmth but. . . .a family and friends can too. They’re supposed to be a form of security and stability AND love. ‘Things’ can only do so much. . . .That’s where materialistic people get lost, I think, constantly using objects to fill a need when it just leaves a bigger hole. Feelings can’t be fulfilled with objects. I’ve had the ‘pleasure’ of being around someone who happens to be like that and it’s definitely not good. In their case, they see objects as a representation of love, needing material things to achieve this feeling and basing something symbolized as something powerful and priceless on things with price tags. It’s absolutely ridiculous to me. Just because the person/people you are with don’t constantly throw gifts and things at you doesn’t mean their love is any less. If love were measured that way, then no one would be satisfied. They would need more and more to compensate for this.

I’d like to back down a bit to show that, obviously, I’m not perfect and say I like ‘things’ and ‘gifts’. I mean, on Christmas and my birthday and even Easter, I enjoy gifts VERY much, as much as I love giving, I love receiving. The slight, but obvious, difference between myself and someone who’s a bit more materialistic is that I don’t invest much of myself emotionally in objects or anything like that because they don’t last very long and they can’t fill a void very well, like I said before. I admit, there was a time where I was attempting to use an object to fill something that I needed, but it didn’t work for long because it was taking me away from people that could’ve helped me a million times more.

*sigh* well, I’m done bitching. . .even though this was very open-ended, it’s been in my head as a thought baby for awhile. I’m glad I finally got it out.

Leave a Reply

