Bitch Mondays: Sex

Bitch Mondays: Sex

My initial view of sex as a kid was biased due to my religion. I’m Christian, so naturally it’s assumed that sex holds a great amount of emotional meaning and intimacy that you really shouldn’t be thinking about until someone decides to marry you. My mom always (and still) loves to hand out the point of ‘your body is a gift, something that should be shared with someone who both deserves you and loves you’ and vise versa. As I’ve gotten older and, realistically, I’ve made a decision to wait until I’m in a relationship in which I know when I’ll be ready and when I can trust that person whole heartedly. Waiting ’til marriage is IDEAL, but when the time comes to seriously consider it, it’s more of a ‘we’ll cross the bridge when we get there’ sort of thing.

I’ve always been in school environments that kind of advocated the same idea, that sex was something that’s serious and if you’re going to do it #1: use protection of all kinds #2: be educated on the dangers of STDs and #3: don’t be a dummy and put yourself in a situation where you could wreck your emotional well-being for something that might last for like. . . .an hour. Now that I’m in college. . .I’ve met a whole new universe of the meaning and importance of sex. . . .I haven’t had it yet (just in case that range of curiosity was peaked in any way. . .which it probably wasn’t). I’m a super virgin, meaning that I haven’t even kissed or touched anyone or anything, nor have I been in a relationship, but that’s kind of what makes watching the process in which others in college interact sexually.

See, in college, sex is like going to Taco Bell, McDonalds, Burger King, Wendy’s, or any other fast food restaurant you can think of and insert into the list I’ve so brilliantly created. You go there, pick what you need/want, and then you get it. It’s exactly like that, except without the transaction of money. You go to a party or some type of social event, you find someone, hoping that they’re either drunk/horny enough to do something with you and then. . .yeah, that’s it. . .you just get it. It’s not very difficult (which has a tendency to bother me. . .) and it’s manageable. It’s weird to think/say, but if I really wanted sex I could just go to a party one weekend and . . .be tossed around like a bag of chips among many willing suitors that I’m sure would be different variations of wasted. Even without alcohol involved, the ability to sort of snake your way into a friendship with a girl/guy, and asking for a ‘friends with benefits’ type of relationship is easy too. I’ve seen it happen more than once here and . . . .to me it’s frightening because it just looks so damn easy. I personally don’t want sex that bad, it’s most likely because I haven’t had it and I don’t know what I’m missing. . .? I won’t really dwell on why exactly I’m not going and joining the very sex driven population of college students, but it just kills me how sex is so terribly casual. Something that’s for bonding, simply used for gaining a quick sense of pleasure, most likely seems odd to me merely because I’ve been programmed to think that sex is some holy and sanctified practice, but just watching people around me use that practice like a gooey, germ infested napkin, I’ve just come to a realization that maybe in this stage of life, that mentality makes sense.

Biologically, we’re all meant to procreate at a young age, so being so sexually driven at like 18 or even as young as 16 is . . . normal. Your body’s trying to tell you its ready to create spawns, but obviously, due to the pleasurable aspect of sex and the very unattractive idea of spawning anything in college that has any of your genetic make-up, the process of actually giving life to anything is deterred by contraceptives (condoms, birth control, morning after pill). So, sure, there’s justification for the behavior and don’t get me wrong, I’m no judge of those who heavily indulge in sexual activity. I just hate to see a special thing kind of be . . . thrown around without much sentiment. What’s the use in having any relations with someone you might only see once? You have the sense of pleasure, I guess, but if you had more attached to that, I’m thinking the experience would be more worth it *shrug* college . . .makes you think about . . .stuff. . .

4 thoughts on “Bitch Mondays: Sex

  1. not easy to deal with it, but well, this is how the world turn actually. No good advice about that , except do what you feel good with and don’t follow fashion if you don’t feel happy with it. Whatever, always think to use protection against sexual diseases.

    1. . . .you sound like my parents lol I feel like no one really promotes abstinence anymore. It’s all about ‘protection against STD’s’ I mean, I don’t expect people my age to NOT have sex especially in my generation, I just . . .idk lol

Leave a Reply

